The origin of Iowa County

Be it enacted by the Legislative Council of the Territory of Michigan, That from and after the first day of January next ensuing, all that part of the county of Crawford to which the Indian title has been extinguished, and embraced within the following boundaries, namely: Beginning at the mouth of Ouisconsin river, and following the course of the same, so as to include all the islands in said river, to the portage between the said Ouisconsin and the Fox river, thence East until it intersects the line between the counties of Brown and Crawford, as established by the proclamation of the Governor of this Territory, bearing date the twenty-sixth day of October, one thousand eight hundred and eighteen, thence south with said line to the northern boundary of Illinois, thence west with said boundary to the Mississippi river, thence up said river with the boundary of this Territory, to the place, to the place of beginning, shall form a county to be called the county of Iowa.

Sec 2. That Samuel W. Beale and Lewis Grignon, of the county of Brown, and Joseph M. Street, of the county of Crawford, are hereby appointed commissioners to fix the seat of justice of said county of Iowa, and they are required to perform the said duty on or before the first day of January next ensuing, at such place within said county, as to them may seem best calculated for the public interest, being first sworn to the faithful discharge of that trust; and so soon as they shall have come to a determination the same shall be reduced to writing and filed with the clerk of said county, whose duty it shall be to record the same, and the place thus designated shall be considered the seat of justice of said county.

Sec. 3. That the commissioners appointed by the last preceding section of this act, shall be entitled to receive the sum of two dollars and fifty cents each per day, for every day necessarily employed by them in the execution of the duty aforesaid; to be paid out of the first moneys that may come into the treasury of said county.

Sec. 4. That in the event of the said commissioners being prevented, from any cause whatever, from performing the duty required of them by this act, then in that case, the seat of justice is hereby temporarily established at Mineral Point, in said county.

Sec. 5. That there shall be two terms of the county court of said county, annually. The first term shall commence on the first Monday of June, and the second term shall commence on the first Monday of December in each and every year.

Sec. 6. That the taxes authorized by the act entitled "An act to regulate the assessment and collection of territorial taxes," approved December thirty, one thousand eight hundred and twenty-six, are hereby remitted in favor of said county of Iowa, and the collection and disbursement of the same shall be conformable to the provisions contained in the eighth section of said act.

Sec. 7. That all suits, prosecutions, and other matters now pending in the circuit court of the United States for the county of Crawford, or before the county court of said county, or before any justice of the peace within the same, shall be prosecuted to final judgment and execution, and all taxes heretofore levied, and now due, shall be collected in the same manner as if the said county of Iowa had not been organized.

Approved October 9, 1829